Only Regrets, and The Alte Münze Sessions

QLH: Only Regrets (cover artwork)
Artwork by Han-earl Park. © 2023 Han-earl Park/QLH.

Here are two recent releases from two very, very different projects. Let’s start with some sweetly queasy, and queasily sweet avant-pop love from QLH (Quentin Tolimieri: synthesizers; Luca Marini: drums; and Han-earl Park: guitar). It’s music that is simultaneously too much, and not enough: there are voids that need filled, but it’s impossible to figure out where they are for the kitchen sink.

Then we can move to a collection of austere, uncluttered melodic compositions from The Names (Heather Frasch: flute; Carina Khorkhordina: trumpet; Koen Nutters: upright bass; Han-earl Park: guitar; and Quentin Tolimieri: bass and soprano melodicas):

QLH: Only Regrets

Quentin Tolimieri (synthesizers), Luca Marini (drums) and Han-earl Park (guitar).

Music by Quentin Tolimieri, Luca Marini and Han-earl Park.

Track 1 recorded by Luca Marini, Berlin, October 11, 2022.
Additional recording by Han-earl Park, Berlin, October 22, 2022.
Track 2 recorded by Marini, September 27, 2022.
Additional recording by Park, September 29, 2022.
Mixed by Han-earl Park.

Artwork by Han-earl Park.

Thanks to Musikfonds / Neustart Kultur.

© + ℗ 2023 Tolimieri/Marini/Park.

The Names: The Alte Münze Sessions

Heather Frasch (flute), Carina Khorkhordina (trumpet), Koen Nutters (upright bass), Han-earl Park (guitar) and Quentin Tolimieri (bass and soprano melodicas).

Melodies, harmonies, and basic arrangements by Koen Nutters.

Recorded by Brendan Dougherty at Alte Münze Studios, Berlin, May 7 and 8, 2022.
Mastered by Taku Unami.

Graphic design by Dinara Vasilevskaia.
Band photo by Agata Guevara.

© + ℗ 2023 Waveform Alphabet.