thanks: Ingrid Laubrock and Han-earl Park at Douglass Street Music Collective, Brooklyn

Necessity is the mother of invention. Catherine Sikora initially approached me about a ‘cryptic gig’, saying that Stanley Jason Zappa would be in town. As a last minute event, with little time for organization, I proposed an evening of duos. Pragmatically, if I’d asked for larger ensembles, people would have to check the availability of a larger number of people; something that can be time consuming in this town. So I asked Ingrid Laubrock, who I’d just been talking about playing with when I saw her at Gowanus Company in April, if she’d be interested in a duo. I also asked Andrew Drury if he could put somthing together, and he got Kris Davis onboard. When the dust settled, catching my breath, I looked at the lineup of the evening, and realized what a kick-ass group of musicians we had for the event.

Thanks to all involved in the May 16 event. For the music: Ingrid, Catherine, Andrew, Stanley and Kris; and for pitching the initial idea for the event: Catherine; for the documentation: Don Mount and Kevin Reilly (what we may lack in other resources, we more than make up for in documentation 😉 ; and for the help: Kevin. Thanks for listening: all who came to witness music in real-time!

Next up: performances coming up in June as part of Eris 136199 (Nick Didkovsky, Han-earl Park and Catherine Sikora), and with Michael Lytle. See the performance diary for up-to-date info.

2 Replies to “thanks: Ingrid Laubrock and Han-earl Park at Douglass Street Music Collective, Brooklyn”

  1. Added to the scrapbook!

    As of May 23, 2013, the performers featured in the scrapbook are Gustavo Aguilar, Sean Ali, boundless, Chris Brown, Murray Campbell, Sander Lopes Cardozo, Chris Chafe, Church of Sonology, Chris Corrigan, Bruce Coates, Steven Davis, Nick Didkovsky, Paul Dunmall, Peter Elsdon, Eris 136199, Michael Evans, Alex Fiennes, Gargantius Effect, Jonathan Goldberger, Dan Goren, io 0.0.1 beta++, Louise Dam Eckardt Jensen, kumar, Dominic Lash, Ingrid Laubrock, liaison, Trevor Lines, Melanie L. Marshall, Will McEvoy, Randy McKean, Manuela Meier, Tamsin Mendelsohn, Ulrich Mitzlaff, Jonathan Moritz, Elspeth Murray, Don Nichols, Doug Van Nort, Koen Nutters, Peter O’Doherty, Pauline Oliveros, Gascia Ouzounian, Han-earl Park, Nuno Rebelo, Pedro Rebelo, resplendent, Stu Ritchie, Gino Robair, root, Simon Rose, Mark Sanders, Franziska Schroeder, Richard Scott, seabass, Catherine Sikora, Josh Sinton, Jamie Smith, Tasos Stamou, Paul Stapleton, Table, The Transmission, Mark Trayle, vespucci, Christopher Williams, Willow Williamson, Jack Wright and Justin Yang.

Post a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.